Support our independent LFC content & go advert-free.
Support our independent Liverpool FC content and go advert-free with This Is Anfield Premium.

Jurgen Klopp and Liverpool trio up for end-of-season Premier League awards

Jurgen Klopp and three of his Liverpool players have been nominated for end-of-season awards by the Premier League, with voting for the honours now open.

The Reds head into the final day of the domestic campaign with hopes of lifting the title remaining, despite Man City‘s 1-0 win over Leicester on Monday night dealing a blow.

No Liverpool side in history has accumulated as many points as Klopp’s this season, which is a testament to both the manager’s work off the pitch and that of his squad on it.

Marking this, Klopp has been named among the four nominees for the Premier League‘s Manager of the Season award, alongside Pep Guardiola (Man City), Mauricio Pochettino (Spurs) and Nuno Espirito Santo (Wolves).

Klopp and Guardiola’s inclusion is unquestionable, while Pochettino’s continued efforts at Tottenham are certainly commendable despite their muted end to the term and Nuno’s work with newly promoted Wolves has been remarkable.

Voting for Manager of the Season is open, and you can back Klopp here, with the deadline set for 6pm on Thursday, May 9.

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - Saturday, January 19, 2019: Liverpool's Mohamed Salah (L) and Virgil van Dijk during the FA Premier League match between Liverpool FC and Crystal Palace FC at Anfield. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Meanwhile, Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah are all up for the Premier League‘s Player of the Season prize, taking three spots from a seven-man shortlist.

Making up the rest of the nominees are City trio Bernardo Silva, Raheem Sterling and Sergio Aguero and Chelsea‘s Eden Hazard.

Van Dijk has already picked up the PFA Player of the Year award for his incredible season at the back for the Reds, and the Dutchman could seal a double, with voting open here.

Finally, Rafa Camacho has been nominated for Premier League 2’s Player of the Season award, after his impressive campaign for the Liverpool U23s.

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - Tuesday, September 18, 2018: Liverpool's Rafael Camacho (right) celebrates scoring the fifth goal with team-mate Curtis Jones (left) during the UEFA Youth League Group C match between Liverpool FC and Paris Saint-Germain at Langtree Park. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

The winner for that award will be announced on Thursday, May 16, with the Portuguese—heavily linked with a move away from Merseyside this summer—up against eight others.

They are Aaron Connolly (Brighton), Morgan Feeney, Bassala Sambou (both Everton), Adam Ibah (Norwich), Daniel Loader (Reading), Eddie Nketiah (Arsenal), Will Smallbone (Southampton) and Elias Sorensen (Newcastle).

Get the historic souvenir Liverpool vs. Real Madrid Champions League Final 2022 matchday programme, with worldwide delivery.

Fan Comments