Gerrard in running for UEFA award

Steven Gerrard has been included in a shortlist for the UEFA Club Player of the Year award.

The Liverpool captain is one of twelve players in the list for the prestigious award which will be presented in a ceremony on August 27th (when the Champions League group draw is also made).

The award is decided by the votes of the managers of the final 16 teams in last season’s Champions League competition.

Gerrard has already won the award before, receiving the honour for the 2004/05 season when he triumphantly lead the Reds to Champions League glory in Istanbul.

The previous winner of the award was Christiano Ronaldo, playing for Manchester Utd at the time.

The full list of nominations is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Petr Cech (Chelsea), Victor Valdes (Barcelona), Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United)

Defenders: Gerard Pique (Barcelona), John Terry (Chelsea), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta (both Barcelona)

Forward: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)