Virgil Van Dijk celebrates vs Watford ( James Wilson/Sportimage/PA Images)

Virgil van Dijk named Premier League Player of the Season

Virgil van Dijk has been named the Premier League‘s Player of the Season, having already been given the PFA Player of the Year award in April.

Van Dijk’s league campaign ended in disappointment as Liverpool were unable to clinch the title despite defeating Wolves 2-0 at Anfield.

Man City‘s 4-1 victory over Brighton on the same afternoon earned a second consecutive triumph for Pep Guardiola’s side, who finished just one point above the Reds with 98.

Though it serves as a minor consolation given the lack of silverware, no side in the English top flight this season conceded fewer goals than Liverpool (22).

Alisson‘s Golden Glove award for 21 clean sheets is recognition of a major contributor to that statistic, but similarly influential was the dominance and leadership of Van Dijk at centre-back.

Prior to kickoff at Anfield, it was announced that the Dutchman had beaten Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Bernardo Silva, Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero and Eden Hazard to be named the Premier League‘s Player of the Season.

This is Van Dijk’s second major individual honour for his first full campaign since swapping Southampton for Liverpool, having also been voted PFA Player of the Year by his fellow professionals.

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - Saturday, March 9, 2019: Liverpool's captain Virgil van Dijk during the FA Premier League match between Liverpool FC and Burnley FC at Anfield. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Speaking on receiving his Premier League award on Sunday, Van Dijk paid tribute to his team-mates and the Reds’ supporters, who voted for the award.

“It’s a great honour and I’m very proud,” he said.

“Without everyone here at Liverpool, fans and players, it wouldn’t be possible so I will definitely give them credit for all of it as well.

“I think the whole season in the Premier League has been outstanding.”

Along with Mane, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Andy Robertson, Van Dijk was also named in the PFA Team of the Year.