SOUTHPORT, ENGLAND - Wednesday, August 19, 2015: Liverpool's Joao Carlos Teixeira celebrates scoring the third goal against Everton with team-mate during the Under 21 FA Premier League match at Haig Avenue. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

‘Premier League 2’ to replace U21 football

A new ‘Premier League 2′ division will replace Under-21 football this season, with teams now being able to field Under-23 teams instead.

Liverpool will be one of the teams in the inaugural new format, which sees three games played at the club’s senior stadium per season.

Therefore, Liverpool’s home fixtures are yet to be confirmed, due to the ongoing work at Anfield.

Teams will also be able to field three over-age players, plus an over-age goalkeeper.

The Premier League describe PL2 as “a new competition with a greater focus on a level of play in terms of technicality, physicality and intensity to bring players as close to first-team experience as possible.”

There are two divisions, with promotion and relegation between the two adding to the competitive nature of the new league. Liverpool will be one of the 12 teams in division one.

Division 1
Arsenal, Chelsea, Derby County, Everton, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Reading, Southampton, Sunderland, Tottenham Hotspur

Division 2
Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Brighton & Hove Albion, Fulham, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Swansea City, Stoke City, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United, Wolverhampton Wanderers

Liverpool say their opening fixture against Southampton on August 14th is yet to have the venue decided, but the Premier League have the venue listed as being at the Reds’ Academy in Kirkby.

Liverpool PL2 Fixtures


Sunday 14 – Southampton (H) 1pm BST, venue TBC.

Monday 22 – Chelsea (A) 7.05pm, at Aldershot Town FC.

Friday 25 – Arsenal (A) 7pm, at Emirates Stadium.


Sunday 11 – Leicester City (H) 2pm, venue TBC.

Monday 19 – Tottenham Hotspur (A) 7pm, White Hart Lane.

Sunday 25 – Sunderland (H) 1pm, venue TBC.


Monday 17 – Manchester United (A) 7pm, Leigh Sports Village.

Sunday 23 – Everton (H) 1pm, venue TBC.

Saturday 29 – Manchester City (A) 1pm, venue TBC.


Sunday 20 – Reading (H) 1pm, venue TBC.

Monday 28 – Derby County (A) 7pm, venue TBC.


Sunday 11 – Arsenal (H) 1pm, venue TBC.

January 2017

Monday 9 – Leicester City (A) 7pm, Holmes Park, Leicestershire FA.

Sunday 15 – Manchester United (H) 1pm, venue TBC.

Sunday 29 – Sunderland (A) 12 noon, Eppleton Colliery Welfare Ground.


Sunday 5 – Tottenham Hotspur (H) 1pm, venue TBC.

Sunday 19 – Derby County (H) 1pm, venue TBC.


Monday 6 – Reading (A) 7pm, venue TBC.

Sunday 12 – Chelsea (H) 1.05pm, venue TBC.


Monday 10 – Southampton (A) 7pm, Staplewood Training Ground.

Sunday 23 – Manchester City (H) 1pm, venue TBC.


Monday 8 – Everton (A) 7pm, Southport FC.

More from This Is Anfield

Fan Comments