WATFORD, ENGLAND - Monday, May 1, 2017: Liverpool's Lucas Leiva in action against Watford's Nordin Amrabat during the FA Premier League match at Vicarage Road. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Liverpool to play at Watford in opening fixture of 2017/18 Premier League season

Liverpool will begin the 2017/18 Premier League season away to Watford.

The new season kicks off on the weekend of August 12/13.

The Reds have played their last two opening fixtures away from home due to the Main Stand construction. Their last home opener was against Southampton in 2014, which was won 2-1.

The first home game of the season will be against Crystal Palace a week later, with Liverpool facing the first leg of their Champions League qualifier playoff in the week between the two opening games.

Arsenal at home completes the month of August, which will be played after the second leg.

The Christmas period sees home games against Swansea and Leicester, with Burnley away on New Years Day.

The final game of the season is at home to Brighton, with the final away game being a potential title decider at Chelsea.

It’s worth noting that the actual dates of the new fixtures are very provisional at this time, with TV companies having until July 10 to make changes to the first two months’ fixtures.

Last season, 29 of Liverpool’s 38 games were moved for TV coverage and with European football this coming season that could be higher still this term.

Liverpool 2017/18 Full Fixtures


12 – Watford (A)
19 – Crystal Palace (H)
26 – Arsenal (H)


9 – Manchester City (A)
16 – Burnley (H)
23 – Leicester City (A)
30 – Newcastle United (A)


14 – Manchester United (H)
21 – Tottenham Hotspur (A)
28 – Huddersfield Town (H)


4 – West Ham United (A)
18 – Southampton (H)
25 – Chelsea (H)
29 – Stoke City (A)


2 – Brighton and Hove Albion (A)
9 – Everton (H)
13 – West Bromwich Albion (H)
16 – Bournemouth (A)
23 – Arsenal (A)
26 – Swansea City (H)
30 – Leicester City (H)


1 – Burnley (A)
13 – Manchester City (H)
20 – Swansea City (A)
30 – Huddersfield Town (A)


3 – Tottenham Hotspur (H)
10 – Southampton (A)
24 – West Ham United (H)


3 – Newcastle United (H)
10 – Manchester United (A)
17 – Watford (H)
31 – Crystal Palace (A)


7 – Everton (A)
14 – Bournemouth (H)
21 – West Bromwich Albion (A)
28 – Stoke City (H)


5 – Chelsea (A)
13 – Brighton and Hove Albion (H)

More from This Is Anfield

Fan Comments