Liverpool’s 8 surviving European champions – 1 position has hardly changed

Of the 24-man squad that Jurgen Klopp named in the 2019 Champions League final, only eight remain at the club after five years. How time flies!

It is the eve of yet another new season, Klopp’s eighth at the helm and it is has been a summer of change for the club – and it is not yet over.

A rebuild has been desperately needed at Anfield and the changes, albeit slowly, that have been made over the last five years become abundantly clear when one looks at the 2019 Champions League final squad.

Of the members of the XI and the extended bench, only eight remain at the club for the upcoming season and they are predominantly members of the defence.

Alisson, Caoimhin Kelleher, Joel Matip, Virgil van Dijk, Joe Gomez, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Andy Robertson and Mohamed Salah are the last remaining members from the team that brought No. 6 back to Liverpool.

This one hurt, times flys
by u/AndrewLonergan in LiverpoolFC

The other 16 have moved on in the years since that day in Madrid, but six only left this summer.

Images have been making the rounds on social media which showcase who Klopp can still call upon and it can prove a startling realisation to see how much has changed.

The departed 16: Where are they now?

MADRID, SPAIN - SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2019: Liverpool's Sadio Mane lifts the trophy after the UEFA Champions League Final match between Tottenham Hotspur FC and Liverpool FC at the Estadio Metropolitano. Liverpool won 2-0 to win their sixth European Cup. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Simon Mignolet: Left 2019, Club Brugge
Alberto Moreno: 2019, Villarreal
Daniel Sturridge: 2019, without a club
Dejan Lovren: 2020, Lyon
Adam Lallana: 2020, Brighton
Rhian Brewster: 2020, Sheffield United
Gini Wijnaldum: 2021, PSG
Xherdan Shaqiri: 2021, Chicago Fire
Divock Origi: 2022, AC Milan
Sadio Mane: 2022, Al Nassr
Fabinho: 2023, Al Ittihad
Jordan Henderson: 2023, Al Ettifaq
James Milner: 2023, Brighton
Naby Keita: 2023, Werder Bremen
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain: 2023, TBC
Roberto Firmino: 2023, Al Ahli

The rebuild at Anfield has not been overnight, far from it, and the first-choice defence, with the exception of Ibrahima Konate, remains firmly in tact at Anfield since that day in Madrid.

What has undergone surgery is the midfield and the attack, the former is still a work in progress but the arrivals of Cody Gakpo, Luis Diaz, Diogo Jota, Darwin Nunez represent a new era up front.

With a season out of the Champions League, it will be intriguing to see what the next European-Cup winning squad looks like – hopefully, we won’t have to wait long to find out!