LFC midfield duo win England Player of Year awards

3 February 2013

Liverpool duo Steven Gerrard and Jordan Henderson have been named England Player of the Year and England Under 21 Player of the Year respectively.

Gerrard, the England and Liverpool captain, won his 100th cap for his country in November and lead the team during their Euro 2012 campaign.

“I still feel fresh, looking forward to the next game as much as my debut. Every time you put the England shirt on, it is a proud moment,” said Gerrard – who has played every minute of every Liverpool Premier League game this season.

▼ Article continues below ▼

Henderson, the Under 21’s captain, earned a call-up to Roy Hodgson’s senior squad for the Euro’s, replacing Frank Lampard after he withdrew from injury.

Liverpool players are currently England captains at all levels – Gerrard (first team), Henderson (under 21’s), Andre Wisdom (under 19’s) and Jordan Rossiter (under 16’s).

▼ Article continues below ▼

More from This Is Anfield

Sponsored Links

Fan Comments

Comments are retrospectively moderated. Some could be subject to delays before publication. They must obey the comment policy. Comments load below.

Please only discuss the article above. General chat can be made on our forums at forums.thisisanfield.com