Liverpool’s New Year showdown with Man City among 7 fixture changes for Reds

12 October 2018

Liverpool’s New Year match against Manchester City is among seven games being rescheduled for TV coverage in December and January.


The Reds’ trip to face last season’s title winners will now take place on Thursday, January 3 at 8pm.

That means there will be no game for Liverpool on New Year’s Day, or indeed on New Year’s Eve – as there was when the two sides faced each other at Anfield two years ago.

Liverpool’s final game of 2018 will be at home to Arsenal on December 29, 5.30pm kick off.

City play at Southampton on the 30th, meaning they will have a day less until Jurgen Klopp and Pep Guardiola’s sides face off again.

The Boxing Day fixture against Newcastle at Anfield will not be shown on TV, and will remain as a 3pm kick off.

The Merseyside derby is among the other changes, moved to Sunday December 2 with a 4.15pm kick off.

The Reds’ home game against Manchester United will be a 4pm kick off a fortnight later on December 16.

Games against Burnley and Bournemouth will also be shown live on UK TV, with the trip to the south coast taking place at 12.30pm meaning an early morning for supporters heading to Dean Court.

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - Friday, January 5, 2018: Liverpool's Andy Robertson and Everton's Yannick Bolasie during the FA Cup 3rd Round match between Liverpool FC and Everton FC, the 230th Merseyside Derby, at Anfield. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

 

Liverpool’s Festive Fixtures

  • Everton (H) Sun 2 Dec, 4.15pm
    • Burnley (A) Wed 5 Dec, 7.45pm
      • Bournemouth (A) Sat 8 Dec, 12.30pm
        • Napoli (H) Tue 11 Dec, 8pm
          • Man United (H) Sun 16 Dec, 4pm
            • Wolves (A) Fri 21 Dec, 8pm
              • Newcastle (H) Wed 26 Dec, 3pm

More from This Is Anfield


Fan Comments