Support our independent LFC content & go advert-free.
Support our independent Liverpool FC content and go advert-free with This Is Anfield Premium.

Mohamed Salah named 6th in 2018 Ballon d’Or, Firmino at 19th

Mohamed Salah has been named in sixth place in the 2018 Ballon d’Or awards.

Salah is placed behind Luka Modric (1st), Cristiano Ronaldo (2nd), Antoine Griezmann (3rd), Kylian Mbappe (4th) and Lionel Messi (5th).

He’s not the only Liverpool player on the final 30-man list, with goalkeeper Alisson Becker at no.25, Sadio Mane ranked at no.22 and Roberto Firmino inside the top 20 at no.19.

Former Liverpool player Luis Suarez is in at no.13.

The only Liverpool player to have ever won the award was Michael Owen in 2001, although Kenny Dalglish (2nd in 1983), Steven Gerrard (3rd in 2005) and Fernando Torres (3rd in 2008) have made the top three.

Kevin Keegan twice won the top award in the two seasons after leaving Liverpool for Hamburg in 1977.

Full 2018 Ballon d’Or list

1. Luka Modric
2. Cristiano Ronaldo
3. Antoine Griezmann
4. Kylian Mbappe
5. Lionel Messi
6. Mohamed Salah
7. Raphael Varane
8. Eden Hazard
9. Kevin de Bruyne
10. Harry Kane
11. N’Golo Kante
12. Neymar
13. Luis Suarez
14. Thibaut Courtois
15. Paul Pogba
16. Sergio Aguero
17=. Gareth Bale
17=. Karim Benzema
19=. Roberto Firmino
19=. Ivan Rakitic
19=. Sergio Ramos
22=. Edinson Cavani
22=. Sadio Mane
22=. Marcelo
25=. Alisson
25=. Mario Mandzukic
25=. Jan Oblak
28. Diego Godin
29=. Isco
29=. Hugo Lloris

Fan Comments