Salah & Van Dijk the winners in Liverpool FC’s end of season awards

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Virgil van Dijk has been named Liverpool’s Player of the Year, with Mohamed Salah taking home the Goal of the Season prize.

Van Dijk has put together an imperious campaign at the heart of the defence, helping the Reds to 97 points in the Premier League and a place in Saturday’s Champions League final.

The Netherlands international, who was named PFA Player of the Year last month, follows Salah in being named Liverpool’s official player of the year – as voted by for the fans.

Van Dijk has also been named Liverpool’s Players’ Player of the Year, adding to the growing list of personal accolades for his first full season at Anfield.

Previous winners of Liverpool’s Player of the Year Award are Salah (2018), Sadio Mane (2017), Philippe Coutinho (2015 and 2016) and Luis Suarez (2014).

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - Sunday, April 14, 2019: Liverpool's Mohamed Salah (2nd from R) celebrates scoring the second goal with team-mates during the FA Premier League match between Liverpool FC and Chelsea FC at Anfield. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Meanwhile, Salah’s memorable strike in front of the Kop against Chelsea has been named First Team Goal of the Season.

The Egyptian’s missile of a shot in April kept Liverpool’s Premier League title hopes alive, following a week that had seen him receive racist abuse from Blues supporters.

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain‘s peach of a strike against Man City in the Champions League quarter-final first leg won the Goal of the Season award in 2017/18.

In this season’s women’s categories, Sophie Bradley-Auckland was voted Players’ Player of the Year and Amy Rodgers won Women’s Player of the Year.

Fan Comments