LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - Wednesday, December 4, 2013: Liverpool's Luis Suarez celebrates scoring the first goal against Norwich City during the Premiership match at Anfield. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Luis Suarez named PFA Player of the Year

Liverpool forward Luis Suarez has been named PFA Player of the Year at an awards ceremony in London on Sunday evening.

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - Wednesday, January 1, 2014: Liverpool's Luis Suarez celebrates scoring the second goal against Hull City during the Premiership match at Anfield. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Suarez, who has scored 30 Premier League goals so far this season, becomes the first Liverpool player to win the award since Steven Gerrard in 2006.

Gerrard was also shortlisted for the award this year, alongside Chelsea‘s Eden Hazard, Southampton‘s Adam Lallana, Man City‘s Yaya Toure and team mate Daniel Sturridge.

Suarez became the first non-European winner of the award and only the tenth foreign winner.

“The Premier League is full of really great players and so it is a great honour when these players recognise your work on the pitch”, said the Uruguayan upon receiving the award from England manager Roy Hodgson.

“Really this is for my teammates and the staff at Liverpool because without their help I wouldn’t have this prize.”

Suarez was asked if Liverpool can still win the league, replying “Of course.”

He went on to shed a tear as he dedicated the award to his wife and kids.

Suarez, Sturridge and Gerrard were all named in the PFA Team of the Year.

Sturridge came second in the voting for Young Player of the Year, which was won by Hazard. Raheem Sterling was also among the nominees and may have pushed for the award had the voting taken place later in the season than it takes place (voting closed in March).

Meanwhile, Liverpool’s Ladies completed a clean sweep, with Lucy Bronze winning the PFA Women’s Player of the Year and Martha Harris won the Women’s Young Player of Year award.

Bronze and Harris were named in the Women’s Team of the Year alongside team mates Gemma Bonner, Fara Williams, Nicole Rolser and Natasha Dowie.

Previous Liverpool PFA Player of the Year Winners:

Steven Gerrard, 2006
John Barnes, 1988
Ian Rush, 1984
Kenny Dalglish, 1983
Terry McDermott, 1980

More from This Is Anfield

Fan Comments