Glory for AFC Liverpool

AFC Liverpool, the club set up by Liverpool fans in the Liverpool FC’s image to provide Reds fans with an affordable way of watching football thrashed fellow fans team Runcorn Linnets 4-1 this weekend to claim the first Fans Club Trophy.

The trophy was set up between the two clubs who are the only fan-owned teams in the Vodkat League.

AFC Liverpool: Willis, Barlow, Crowder, Bloxam, Chandler, Dever (c), Wignall, Johnson, Thurston, Eaton, McCoy.

Runcorn had an early penalty saved by AFC Liverpool keeper Paul Willis before Ryan Wignall opened the scoring shortly after the half hour mark.

Wignall turned assister to set up Dean Thurston who doubled AFC Liverpool’s lead shortly after. Wignall was later sent off for dissent after being denied a penalty shortly into the second half.

Andy McCoy converted a penalty to extend the lead further before Runcorn’s David Thompson scored the game’s third penalty.

But AFC Liverpool had the last laugh when David Eaton added a fourth.

AFC Liverpool kick-off their Vodkat League season this Saturday when they play Darwen FC at Valerie Park. For more information head to www.afcliverpool.org.uk.