BARCELONA, SPAIN - Wednesday, May 1, 2019: Liverpool's substitute Rhian Brewster during the pre-match warm-up before the UEFA Champions League Semi-Final 1st Leg match between FC Barcelona and Liverpool FC at the Camp Nou. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Liverpool trio nominated for 2019 European Golden Boy award

The nominees for the coveted Golden Boy award have been released for 2019 and three Liverpool candidates are on the 100-strong shortlist.

Italian outlet Tuttosport release the nominations for the award each year, for the best-rated under-21 talent on the planet.

The names in the running for the 2019 edition have now been confirmed, with a whole clutch of talented names hoping to succeed Matthijs de Ligt in winning the award.

Journalists from such publications as Marca, Bild, the Telegraph, A Bola and more will vote on the winner, while fans can also vote for their own online version of the award.

Last year, three young Reds were nominated—Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ben Woodburn and Herbie Kane—and this time around it’s the same number, but two different players included.

Woodburn is heralded in the nominations for a second year running, despite not having the best of seasons with his loan move to Sheffield United being terminated early.

KIRKBY, ENGLAND - Saturday, April 6, 2019: Liverpool's Ben Woodburn during the Under-23 FA Premier League 2 Division 1 match between Liverpool and Chelsea at the Academy. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

The other two are new faces to the nominations list: striker Rhian Brewster and goalkeeper Kamil Grabara.

Brewster has yet to make his senior debut for Liverpool, though that has merely been delayed by injury.

A lengthy rehabilitation has put his progress on hold, but there’s no doubt he’ll be involved next season after regaining fitness.

Grabara is a hugely confident young stopper who has recently been busy gathering his first experience of senior football, on loan in Denmark with AGF.

The Polish stopper briefly featured in pre-season for the Reds, though is also yet to make his competitive debut under Jurgen Klopp.

BURY, ENGLAND - Saturday, July 14, 2018: Liverpool's goalkeeper Kamil Grabara during a preseason friendly match between Bury FC and Liverpool FC at Gigg Lane. (Pic by Paul Greenwood/Propaganda)

Other notable names in the running are Real Madrid’s Vinicius Junior, Barcelona-bound Ajax midfielder Frenkie de Jong, Benfica forward Joao Felix and current holder of the award, Ajax centre-back De Ligt.

Former winners include Kylian Mbappe, Sergio Aguero and Lionel Messi.