Liverpool 4-0 Blackburn: Reds bounce back!

Liverpool bounced back from the disappointment of the Champions League defeat to Chelsea with a perfect match against Blackburn in the lunchtime kick-off at Anfield.

The match was preceded by an impeccably observed minute’s silence in remembrance of the 20th anniversary of the Hillsborough disaster this week, with former Red and Blackburn player Stephen Warnock laying a wreath at the Kop end.

The BBC also highlighted the anniversary with a special episode of Football Focus being screened live from outside the Shankly Gates and the Hillsborough Memorial.

Once the action got underway, Fernando Torres repeated his trick of scoring in the opening minutes – this one was even more spectacular than in the week. An absolute wonder goal of Marco van Basten style, chesting down a long ball from Jamie Carragher just inside the box, turning and volleying the ball over Paul Robinson’s head into the far corner. Bounce!

This time, unlike Wednesday, Rafa Benitez’s side went on to win the match at a canter, albeit against hugely inferior opposition, with Sam Allardyce playing a defender as a lone forward – tactical genius that guy.

Torres made it two with a wonderful header from Xabi Alonso’s from free-kick just after the half-hour. The lead should have been more but Dirk Kuyt’s two chances were saved by Robinson.

Late-on Daniel Agger, returning to the side in place of Martin Skrtel, scored a 25 yard strike almost exactly the same as his goal against West Ham a few years ago.

Minutes later it was four, David N’gog heading in from close range.

It could, any maybe should, have been much more with Liverpool completely outplaying and bombarding Blackburn. But they’re back top and goal difference is looking very impressive!

Man United play Sunderland this afternoon.

Liverpool: Reina, Arbeloa, Carragher, Agger, Insua, Benayoun, Mascherano, Alonso, Riera, Torres, Kuyt. Subs: Cavalieri, Dossena, Gerrard, Lucas, Ngog, El Zhar, Skrtel.
Blackburn: Robinson, Andrews, Ooijer, Nelsen, Givet, Mokoena, Dunn, Kerimoglu, Warnock, Treacy, Samba. Subs: Bunn, McCarthy, Grella, Khizanishvili, Villanueva, Olsson, Doran.