Support our independent LFC content & go advert-free.
Support our independent Liverpool FC content and go advert-free with This Is Anfield Premium.

Luis Suarez scores a hat-trick at LFC Awards Night

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Liverpool held their Players’ Awards Evening on Tuesday night, with striker Luis Suarez taking home three awards – players’ player, supporters’ player and goal of the season.

Luis Suarez of Liverpool poses with award during the Liverpool FC 2014 Players' Awards Dinner on May 6, 2014 in Liverpool, England.

The 2014 PFA Player of the Year and FWA Player of the Year walked away with Goal of the Season for his forty yard volley against Norwich City at Anfield, as well as Player’s Player of the Year and Player of the Year voted for by fans.

Other winners on the night included nineteen year old winger, Raheem Sterling who was voted Young Player of the Year by fans.

Under 21s midfielder Jordan Rossiter picked up Academy Player’s Player of the Year and midfielder, Nicole Rolser picked up Liverpool Ladies Player’s Player of the Year.

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - Tuesday, May 6, 2014: The Liverpool first team arrive on the red carpet for the Liverpool FC Players' Awards Dinner 2014 at the Liverpool Areaa (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Reds manager Brendan Rodgers received the Outstanding Achievement Award for his impressive management style, which has brought Champions League football back to the Club. Legend, Ronnie Moran was recognised with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his service to the Club during the Boot Room era and beyond.

Winners of other accolades included:

• Bill Shankly Award – someone who has upheld the Club’s values, showing dignity, unity, commitment and ambition – Winner: Lucas Leiva for his services to the Liverpool FC Foundation

• Supporters’ Club of the Year – a fan club that has shown extraordinary support for their beloved Liverpool – Winner: Official Liverpool FC Supporters Club Paris

• Fan of the Year – a fan who goes above and beyond for their Club and community, showing great courage to overcome adversity – Winner: Rado Chmiel

• Staff Recognition Award – For a member of Liverpool FC staff who is dedicated to Liverpool FC and upholds the Liverpool way – Winner: Matt Walker

Attendees at the event, at The ACC Arena Liverpool, included former players John Alrdidge, Jason McAteer, Didi Hamann, Ian Callaghan and Kenny Dalglish.

As part of the event, an auction was held to raise vital funds for Liverpool FC Foundation, the Club’s charity which provides a wide range of sport-inspired programmes throughout the local community and beyond that help to inspire positive change and build better futures for people of all ages.

We’ll have an interview with young player of the year Jordan Rossiter on This Is Anfield on Wednesday.

Supporters can watch the awards night on LFCTV on Wednesday night.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Fan Comments