Liverpool's Mohamed Salah poses with the PFA Player Of The Year Award Trophy during the 2018 PFA Awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London

Mohamed Salah wins PFA Player of the Year award

Mohamed Salah has won the PFA Player of the Year award, beating Man City‘s Kevin De Bruyne to the acclaim at the awards ceremony in London on Sunday night.

Salah becomes the first Liverpool player to win the award since Luis Suarez in 2014, receiving the votes from his fellow professionals on his debut season at Anfield.

The Egyptian’s 41 goals in all competitions so far this season made him a frontrunner for the award, along with De Bruyne who has been influential in City’s league title success.

Liverpool’s Previous PFA Player of the Year Winners:

Luis Suarez – 2014
Steven Gerrard – 2006
John Barnes – 1988
Ian Rush – 1984
Kenny Dalglish – 1983
Terry McDermott – 1980

Liverpool's Jordan Henderson (left) and Mohamed Salah arrive for the 2018 PFA Awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London.(Photo: John Walton/PA Wire)

Salah beat Harry Kane, Leroy Sane, David Silva, De Bruyne and David De Gea in the vote.

The former Chelsea and Roma man was joined by captain Jordan Henderson at the awards ceremony, along with his agent and several members of Liverpool’s backroom staff, including director of football Michael Edwards who was vital in recruiting Salah last summer.

You can watch receiving the award below:

More from This Is Anfield

Fan Comments