Liverpool quartet named in 2018/19 PFA Premier League Team of the Year

25 April 2019

Liverpool’s strong showing this season has been reflected in four Reds being named to the PFA Team of the Year.

The Reds remain in the title hunt with just three games left of the Premier League season, along with Man City—so it’s no surprise that the bulk of the 11 is made up of players from those two sides.

In particular, it’s Liverpool’s defensive record which has been highlighted by the names picked—with the fewest goals conceded this term in the league, just 20.

Three of the Team of the Year back four ply their trade at Anfield, with PFA Players’ Player of the Year Virgil van Dijk the stand-out name at the back.

He’s flanked by right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold, who is shortlisted for Young Player of the Year, and left-back Andy Robertson, a non-stop force down the opposite flank this term.

The fourth member of the Liverpool contingent named to the Team of the Year is forward Sadio Mane, who was shortlisted for Player of the Year, too.

The remainder of the PFA Team comes from Manchester: six City players and one from United, who may fuel the most criticism over inclusion.

That addition from Old Trafford is Paul Pogba, who has had an up-and-down campaign at best in the eyes of many.

LONDON, ENGLAND - Sunday, March 17, 2019: Liverpool's Sadio Mane celebrates scoring the first goal during the FA Premier League match between Fulham FC and Liverpool FC at Craven Cottage. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Aymeric Laporte is the only defender deemed good enough in the league to match the Reds’ exploits at the back this term, though Ederson got the nod over Alisson‘s debut season at Anfield—despite the Reds’ No. 1 having more clean sheets and conceding fewer.

Last season Liverpool had just one player in the XI, Mohamed Salah, while the last time at least two Reds were included was 13/14, with Luis Suarez, Steven Gerrard and Daniel Sturridge named.

PFA Team of the Year 2018/19: Ederson (City); Alexander-Arnold (LFC), Laporte (City), Van Dijk (LFC), Robertson (LFC); Fernandinho (City), Pogba (United), Bernardo Silva (City); Mane (LFC), Sergio Aguero (City), Raheem Sterling (City).

More from This Is Anfield

Fan Comments